m.ward sings to me on houtbay road.

i nearly died when i discovered this road the other day.
houtbay road.

old dutch houses planted on slanting vineyards.
humongous trees wrapped in vines towering overhead. 
the mossy mountains standing guard in the background.

and these are shitty pictures i snapped while driving (yes, smart) that hardly do it any justice.

it’s one minute from my house, and yesterday i drove straight past my turn just so i could drive it in the late afternoon sun. 
it is magical.

i turned up this song and i was so happy my face physically hurt.

hoping my mind don’t slip
sailing on a sinking ship
into the sunset in day
dark night on a long highway
little lights in the houses say
there’s somebody staying up late
whoa-oh

I’ll be true to you
oh yeah, you know I will
I’ll be true to you forever or until
I go home

God, it’s great to be alive
takes the skin right off my hide
to think I’ll have to give it all up someday

and if I ever treated you mean
you know that it was only because
I’m sorry i couldn’t have you for my own
whoa-oh

I’ll be true to you
oh yeah, you know I will
I’ll be true to you forever or until
I go home
I go home
I, I, I, I go home
I, I, I, I go home
I, I, I, I go home

God, it’s great to be alive
takes the skin right off my hide
to think I’ll have to give it all up someday…

One response to “m.ward sings to me on houtbay road.

  1. mynameishailey

    oooooooh bring this road back with you to canada for me!!!!!!!! i love love love it! looks magical!

Leave a Reply

