this is the story of how i found a guitar teacher.

the sunday before last i was walking home from the flea market with an arm full of new records when i could hear a banjo twanging from somewhere up in the air.

it was a dude on his patio and this is the story of how i found a guitar teacher.

me: “is that you?”
him: “yeah”
me: “i wasn’t sure if that was a tape or actually someone. you’re really good.”
him: “thanks”
me: “you play around town?”
him: “kinda, part-time,” he named a couple places i didn’t know of. “i work in the film industry, so i don’t have a lot of time.”
me: “ah, i see. what’s your name?”

him: “simon”
me: “i’m dani. you play guitar?”
him: “yeah”
me: “you teach?”
him: “no”
me: “do you want to?”
him: “sure?”
me: “i want to learn. when do you have free time?”
him: “on the weekends”
me: “yeah, i’m free daytime, anytime. i just live on st. george.” i motioned left.
him: “so…how do i get ahold of you?”
me: “i’ll yell my number up to you.”
him: “ok, what is it?”
i yelled it up.
him: “ok, great. awesome.”
me: “keep playing simon.”

and off i walked.
first guitar lesson is this weekend. 

One response to “this is the story of how i found a guitar teacher.

  1. You’re the coolest!

Leave a Reply

